Going Tacofino in Vancouver

Vancouver is food truck central. Stroll the streets of downtown during the lunchtime rush hour and you will see people congregating in troves, just so they can get their hands on some of the delectable food offered by these unassuming ‘meals on wheels’.

 

Tacofico is something of a legend among food-truck-loving lunch goers downtown. Listed as one of Canada’s best food trucks by Canadian Living, among others, Tacofino is known for their fresh ingredients and delicious tacos.  Since I’m not one to shy away from delicious food that I am actually allowed to eat with my hands, I headed down to the unassuming cube parked at Burrard and Dunsmuir to see what all the fuss is about.

 

Tacofino 1

 

The truck is almost hidden from view behind the masses of people lined up down the street patiently waiting for a taste of Mexico in Vancouver. With an image of the Virgin de Guadeloupe holding a taco to keep my company while I wait, I consult the fold-out chalkboard menu that sits on the sidewalk. It’s ten minutes before I reach the pop up window to place my order – I decided on Fish Tacos – form the friendly and efficient team inside truck.

 

Tacofino 3                                          Tacofino 2

 

Tacofino 5                  Tacofino 11

 

Not usually one for battered, fried fish, this was a small risk for me, but it paid off. The fish was light and crispy and I loved the fact that these small cubes of fried-heaven filled the entire taco from front to back. The fish is topped with a good amount of salsa and some thinly sliced crispy cabbage along with a chipotle mayo. Delicious. Even the taco tortilla itself was delicious.

 

Tacofino 8

 

With a motto promoting fresh food fast, Tacofino certainly delivers. Although the line was rather long the food came out fast, and it was certainly fresh. This is some of the best Mexican food in the city, if not all of BC, and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for lunch on the streets of Vancouver.

Sarah V

Leave a Reply

