Africa Part I – Victoria Falls

To describe Vitoria Falls as beautiful, or even awe-inspiring, does not do this World Heritage listed area justice. Only a visit to these impressive falls will suffice as no description, in my opinion, will do the falls justice.

The sheer power of the falls alone is enough to impress even the most cynical of travellers.

The name Mosi-ao-Tunya, meaning ‘The Smoke that Thunders’, was given to the falls by the Kololo Tribe who lived in the area in the 1800’s. An apt name given that the spray from the falls can be seen from miles away.

While visiting the falls we stayed at the impressive colonial hotel, Victoria Falls Hotel.  Built in 1904, Victoria Falls Hotel was the first hotel built in the area. Colonial Edwardian charm emanates from the hotel’s walls and a stay here will leave you feeling happy and content. The hotel’s charm coupled with the uber-friendly staff here will do that to you.

The view of the falls from the hotel’s terrace is outstanding, the tell-tale spray rises up into the sky expertly imitating a bushfire. And when the sun is in the right position in the sky you can even see rainbow over the falls.

The hotel is famous for its delectable high tea, which did not disappoint. High tea taken on the terrace, with a view of the Victoria Falls as company, sure is one helluva way to spend an afternoon.

Here’s what my time at Victoria Falls looked like.

Victoria Falls 4

Victoria Falls 5

Victoria Falls 2

Victoria Falls 1

Victoria Falls 3

Victoria Falls 7

Victoria Falls 10

Victoria Falls 9

Victoria Falls 8

Victoria Falls 23

Victoria Falls 21

Victoria Falls 6

Victoria Falls 12

Victoria Falls 19

Victoria Falls 17

Victoria Falls 11

Victoria Falls 18

Victoria Falls 13

Victoria Falls 16

Victoria Falls 14

Victoria Falls 15

Victoria Falls 26

Victoria Falls 28

Victoria Falls 27

Victoria Falls 20

4 thoughts on “Africa Part I – Victoria Falls

  1. I remember the time when my niece asked me how do waterfalls work. I was absolutely stumped! I had no time to Google it even, she was right in front of me! Hahahaha. Anyway, I hope to see more waterfalls soon. Maybe by taking them all in, I will be able to share more of how the mechanics of it work. 🙂

    PS: I hope you don’t mind if I steal a bit of your time and ask you to fill out this survey. http://ohcarlaloo.com/2015/05/06/got-time-for-a-survey-and-some-20/ It’s for my grad school thesis on travel accommodations, particularly on hostels. I wouldn’t really ask, I know it’s an imposition but I have to gather responses from non-Filipinos and well, I could really use your help. I promise it won’t take more than a couple of minutes. Thank you very much! 🙂

Leave a Reply

